Hanako Vyq

Complain about Dealership

My wife ordered a 2014 Subaru Forster from day one we had trouble out of it. We had to have a motor put in it rear end work. For 4 years straight every summer we had to have the A/C worked on. This would have been the 5th year that we would have had the A/C worked on and it would have costed us more money. To me that's a shame but what was really bad the General manager at the dealer ship Joseph Subaru in Florence Ky. Told my wife to take it some where else that they was not going to mess with it. To me that's not good business but what ever.
View full review

Preferred solution: Apology

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY FROM SUBARU!!!!!

Resolved
Maurice F Sjx

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Buffalo, New York

Resolved: To thank them

Updated by user Apr 05, 2024

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with partial refund.

Original review Apr 05, 2024
I called to thank Subaru of America because I was involved in a car accident and I lost the car but I still have my life thank God and the Subaru outback even though the 2014 kept safe so I just want to say thank you from the bottom of my heart
View full review
Javone S

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Albany, New York

I have a complaint about Oliver subru dealership

Subaru Of America - I have a complaint about Oliver subru dealership
Subaru Of America - I have a complaint about Oliver subru dealership - Image 2
Subaru Of America - I have a complaint about Oliver subru dealership - Image 3
Subaru Of America - I have a complaint about Oliver subru dealership - Image 4

I had a really bad and unprofessional experience with Oliver subru of Vermont they don't value or appreciate their customers they lied to me about detailing a vehicle I spent almost 40k on and told me it was nothing they would do for me and to top it off they only gave me one key fob to the vehicle I'm still waiting on being reimbursed for the detailing services I had to pay for out of pocket not to mention after I gave my five Hundred dollar deposit to hold the car I was told to send a photo of my driver's license and once my sales guy Jhon seen I was African american he didn't contact Mr back for two whole day's that should have been my sign to not do business with them

View full review
HEsteban

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Holland, New Jersey

DCM Warranty Extension - Online Reimbursement Form is Faulty

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I received a notice regarding battery drain issues stemming from the Data Communications Module in my 2016 Crosstrek Hybrid. I had recently had my battery replaced for the 2nd time in 3 years and was directed to an online reimbursement form.

The form asks for an invoice in one field and the receipt in another field. My invoice is 2 pages long. My claim was subsequently denied because, unbeknownst to me, more than 1 page will not load into the attachment. I had to call and find this out, then resubmit.

When you attach a file, the form seems to indicate that you may attach a 2nd, 3rd, page or photo, but it does not. The representative told me that if there's more than 1 page, they can't see anything at all and the claim gets denied for lack of itemized proof. This must be corrected going forward or a lot of customers will be under the impression that they are being denied and turned away. The form itself is slow to load even drop down menu choices.

Something should be done to fix this. I like my car.

I don't want to have to deal with this problem, and am not happy that I'll have this battery issue in the back of my mind from now on. If the warranty forms are not user friendly, I'll have the added worry that Subaru won't uphold the extended warranty should I need yet ANOTHER battery replaced.

View full review

User's recommendation: When using these online forms, make sure all information is being properly accepted. It may be more beneficial to call in any requests and ask for assistance.

Grace W Wea

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Port Richey, Florida

CPO 2020 Ascent missing rear crash bar assembly

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I bought this car in March 2022. All required maintenance has been performed by the original dealership or the one closest to me.

First time I had the car in for oil change, they informed me it couldn't be done, apparently the oil pan was damaged.

So much for CPO.

Despite steady complaints regarding the transmission's "performance",

"techs" could find no problem.

Transmission defects were finally acknowledged and a new transmission has been installed. So much for CPO.

This car has required numerous repairs, been on a lift at least a

dozen times.

My most recent contact with Subaru service, the car needed brakes, routine, right? Tech discovered two lug nuts were broken off.

Service manager suggested it was my fault. I really don't play with car wheels, did I mention I'm 82 years old?

At the most recent service appointment, the "tech" discovered the rear crash bar and harness had been removed.

They'll replace it for $3300.

I declined that offer. Once again, it was suggested that I had removed this safety feature. It defies logic that I would remove one of the components for which I bought the car.

My question is, with all the repairs this bucket of bolts has required,

with the original CPO certification from the selling dealership, no one

ever saw this before? I bought this car strictly based on its safety

advertisement.

My goal was to leave it to my family when I no longer

drive. So much for that. It's a money pit.

I see you want files & proof of purchase.

I'm sorry, I don't have expertise to do that here. I'm happy to mail you copies of everything.

Let me know.

View full review
Cons:
  • Subaru is avoiding responsibility for major problems

Preferred solution: Replacement of safety equipment

User's recommendation: Have your own mechanic go over a Subaru. CPO doesn't hold water

David G Lod

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Natick, Massachusetts

Report recurring motor failures on a Subaru Outback

Subaru Of America - Report recurring motor failures on a Subaru Outback
Original review Mar 29, 2024
I was asked to leave with my car at 140,000 after my second engine failed after 50,000 miles. Metrowest Subaru incorrectly installed my last motor or it was defective. I am unhappy and without a vehicle after 0ver 10K$ in repairs.
View full review
Loss:
$10
Pros:
  • Great cars
Cons:
  • Poor quality

Preferred solution: Price reduction

User's recommendation: Don't have the dealership fix an engine issue

CJ V Rcc

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Santa Rosa, California

DCM problem unresolved

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
After years of dead battery issues, finally got notice Subaru had a fix and then at my Dealer Hansel Subaru was told my car didnt have the problem. But I know it does because I solved it for the last year by removing the fuse for the DCM. This should be a recall. I will never go to Hansel Subaru again (though I've bought 3 Subarus there) and I will never buy another Subaru. Loyal no more and so sad.
View full review

Preferred solution: DCM reprogramming

User's recommendation: Dont buy a Subaru, they are not the car company they use to be...

Melody M Wnk

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Repeated warning lights on Subaru with repeated visits to Rockville Subaru

I brought my Subaru in several times with dashboard light indicators beeping. Who can I see that is a good technician?
View full review

Preferred solution: I need to fix the problem.

Anonymous
map-marker Greenville, South Carolina

Incomplete phone call

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
My 2013 Subaru is no longer hailing/synching with my iPhone. I can connect manually from my phone, but it is no longer linking at startup of my vehicle. Any suggestions or thoughts?
View full review

User's recommendation: Answer the phone.

Crystal G Xyj

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Evergreen Park, Illinois

Take advantage of women

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I walked in by myself to purchased a use vehicle and they sold me a car that the transmission didn't work. Then pursed me to buy the extended warranty. They submitted the claim knowing it was a preexisting issue. Never told me anything. They lost the 2nd key to the vehicle and don't want to answer my calls. Not even to tell me why they submitted a claim to my extended warranty that I paid. Sad how they can do this.
View full review
Loss:
$1300
Cons:
  • No worries to your issue
  • Theft
  • Fraud

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Beware of buying at Subaru dealership. Especially if you are women. They will take advantage of you.

Louise B Wet

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
| map-marker Dallas, Texas

Title was never completed. Only title is the original title showing Subaru of America as the owner of my car. I've provided the purchase agreement and the registration in my name.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Title was never completed. Only title is the original title showing Subaru of America as the...

To correct the problem, the DMV said Subaru of America needs to fill out a form available on the DMV website. A title would be sent Subaru, which they can sign off on and send to me.

Subaru refused saying, "we don't do title work". The dealer who sold me the car offered to revise the paperwork but would need a power of attorney from Subaru of America (a common practice because of the Corporate-dealer relationship), but Subaru refused. Car can't be sold or traded in. They recommended I get a bonded title at a cost to me of $400-$500.

They could have resolved this issue in about 30 minutes with little to no cost to them. Instead it took more than a month and dialog with 4 people for them to deny any assistance to correct their mistake.

View full review

User's recommendation: If there is any problem don't expect any assistance from Subaru.

Janice C Oph

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Garrettsville, Ohio

My car is a 2017 and it's junk

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I have a 2017 Subaru Impreza and I need over $5500 in repairs in a leaky gasket in the engine not even 90,000 miles on my car not happy
View full review

User's recommendation: Do not buy one

Hanako Vyq
map-marker Columbus, Ohio

Complain about Dealership

No we no longer have a issue with Subaru because we just got rid of it. We are no longer a Subaru owner. And we thank the Lord for that. We will never own a another Subaru again LOLLOLLOL
View full review

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY FROM SUBARU

john r Oox

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Camden, New Jersey

Starlink billing

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Subaru Of America - Starlink billing
Original review Jan 15, 2024
Avoid Starlink services! Signed up for Starlink services for a Christmas gift on 12/25/23. Subaru decided to bill me retroactively to 7/22/22. I have made 9 calls, been transferred from customer service to customer advocacy to warranty. I have been promised callbacks twice with no response as of 1/15/24. Car is great, but customer service is a complete failure.
View full review
Loss:
$95
Pros:
  • Great cars
Cons:
  • Horrible customer care

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Avoid the starlink service!

David G Lod

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Natick, Massachusetts

Report recurring motor failures on a Subaru Outback

The Car Engine exploded as soon as I left the Dealership. I was stuck on the side of the highway on Easter. I called Metrowest Subaru and they refused to help me. They are evil and vindictive. I will never go back to a Subaru
View full review
Loss:
$10000
Cons:
  • No help
  • Just hot air

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Stay Away fromSubaru and Especially Metro West Subaru.

SAMANTHA S Yua

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Rockwall, Texas

Car is a lemon

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Subaru Of America - Car is a lemon

I've been through a loop trying to get out of a car I bought from Norm Reeves in May. Had to get a new transmission the 3rd day I had it.

Took it back several times because it had constant issues. Was turned away each time and said nothing is wrong with it just like before the transmission went out. They didn't believe me. Took it to a second subaru dealership.

Did a transmission re-learn. Called customer service ended up with a gift certificate. Continued to have issues. Took it to a third subaru dealership.

Contacted SOA. Went through steps Mahdi said. Told him the dealership was not going to look at it again due to needing tires. He said to take it anyways.

So i did. They told me once again i need tires before they do anything. Why should I buy new tires if the whole vehicle needs to be replaced from something in it that's faulty and no one wants to believe me or take the time to look at it? They will not look at.

The guy had the audacity to tell me to take it back to the dealership I got it from(Norm Reeves) and have them look at it. After telling him everything I've been through.

I was so frustrated I hung up.

He had told me to stop being a *** but yet he was telling me one thing then telling me to do another after calling him out on what he originally told me to do. I'm so frustrated with the whole situation.

DO NOT RECOMMEND SUBARU ESPECIALLY NORM REEVES IN ROCKWALL TX.

View full review
Pros:
  • Can be good cars
Cons:
  • Sold a lemon out of the bunch without wanting to resolve the issue

Preferred solution: Replacement of lemon car with car of my choice with no extra charges or fees placed on me, apology from Mahdi, apology from Norm Reeves Subaru dealership.

User's recommendation: Do not go to Subaru

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article